FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (2/26/99) Adopt A Library - Getting books to people who need them

American Lynn Gaubatz
Honored As Soloist
At Peace Prize Ceremony

TRONDHEIM, NORWAY -- American virtuoso bassoonist Lynn Gaubatz will appear as soloist at the ceremony during which former Israeli Prime Minister and Nobel Laureate Shimon Peres awards the international Students' Peace Prize to East Timorese Student Leader Antero B. da Silva in Trondheim, Norway on March 12, 1999.

"I am deeply honored to be chosen to participate in these historic events and awed to be onstage with human rights leaders from around the world," says Miss Gaubatz, who will also perform as an introduction to the Saturday, March 13 speech of Ms. Jasmind Sooka, a representative from South Africa's Truth and Reconciliation Commission. The Commission was established to help South Africa deal with its post-apartheid era problems.

Named "One of America's Ten Most Outstanding Young Working Women" by GLAMOUR Magazine, Miss Gaubatz has performed as soloist in Europe, North and South America, and Africa. Her critically-acclaimed performances of Mozart's Bassoon Concerto have been broadcast on three continents by PBS, Radio Nacional de Espa˝a, and Radio Nacional de Venezuela, and she's the only bassoonist ever to have a recital broadcast worldwide by The Voice of America.

Miss Gaubatz has played as principal bassoonist under Leonard Bernstein, Seiji Ozawa, Sir Georg Solti and others, with orchestras in Austria, Germany, Spain, Venezuela and the U.S. She has performed at music festivals around the world, including Tanglewood, Aspen, and Wolf Trap, where she played the bassoon on stage in costume in Mozart's Don Giovanni. She taught at the prestigious Mozarteum Conservatory in Salzburg, Austria from 1982 to 1984, and has given master classes in Salzburg, Seville, Mßlaga, Caracas, Boston, Washington, Madison, Albuquerque, and Santa Fe. She currently teaches bassoon at the Levine School of Music in Washington, DC, where she also serves as Chair of the Wind and Brass Department.

The Students' Peace Prize is awarded by a Committee appointed by ISFiT-99, consisting of both students and distinguished persons with life-long experience within the realm of peace and human rights work. The members of the Committee are Mr. Jan Egeland (Special Advisor, the Norwegian Red Cross; former Secretary of State, the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs), Professor Lucy Smith (former headmaster of the University of Oslo), Professor Emil Spj°tvoll (headmaster of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology), Mrs. Siri Meyer (head of the Centre of European Cultural Studies at the University of Bergen), Mr. Peter M. Johansen (editor of foreign affairs in the Norwegian daily newspaper Klassekampen), Mr. Sigvart Voss Eriksen (leader of ISFiT), the Bosnian student Mr. Vedad Hadziavdic, and the Norwegian student Mrs. Hege W­gan.

The first International Student Festival in Trondheim (ISFiT) took place in 1990. ISFiT is both a festival and a conference. With over 400 participants from 100 nations, ISFiT is the largest conference of its kind in the world. The 5th ISFiT, whose main theme is "Solving Conflicts", will be held 5-14 March, 1999. Earlier ISFiT conferences have had several guests of honor, among them His Holiness the Dalai Lama; Dr. Gro Harlem Brundtland, Director-General of the World Health Organisation; Chai Ling, the leader of the student uprising in China in 1989; and author Taslima Nasreen.

Biography enclosed. For further information, please go to

# # #

Click here to return to the top.
Click here to email for more information.
Click here to go to the homepage of Lynn Gaubatz.
Click here to go to